Our Leadership

QNMU leadership team and council

The QNMU branch leadership team and council is elected by the union's general membership. These positions also fill the corresponding office in the QNMU.

President: Sally-Anne Jones

Sally-Anne is the current QNMU state and ANMF federal President. She began her nursing career in Cairns as an AIN in aged care before moving to Brisbane to become a Registered Nurse.  Sally-Anne has worked in a range of clinical areas, including cancer care and Emergency Departments, and is currently Nursing Director Critical Care Women’s and Children’s Services at Redcliffe Hospital.

Sally-Anne is a powerful advocate for change at the system and local levels, including through national consultative forums via the ANMF.

Vice-President: Lucynda Maskell

Lucynda is QNMU Vice President, a passionate nurse and midwife advocate and activist and a strong voice for rural and remote Queensland members. Lucynda has been an active union member since working at the Princess Alexandra Hospital in the 1990s, and was a Brisbane-based QNMU organiser.   

Lucynda currently works as the Clinical Nurse Consultant in the Aboriginal community of Napranum. She participates in the local Nursing and Midwifery Consultative forum, the District Consultative forum as well as a state-wide forum focused on occupational violence, especially for rural and remote regions. 

Lucynda has provided evidence at the Senate Community Affairs Reference Committee into access to diagnostic imaging, highlighting experiences of rural and remote residents, and has pushed for enhancements to the incentive package for Rural and Isolated Nurses and Midwives (RANIP).;

Secretary: Beth Mohle, AM

Beth commenced her career in nursing in 1983, when she worked as a Registered Nurse at the Royal Brisbane Hospital. Beth joined the QNMU as an Organiser in 1991 and was elected Assistant Secretary in January 2007 and Secretary in April 2011.

As QNMU Secretary, Beth’s focus remains firmly on members and using numerous avenues to address the challenges they confront in their daily working lives.

In 2020, Beth was presented with an Order of Australia Medal for her significant service to the nursing profession, industrial relations, and the superannuation sector.

Beth is currently a board member of QSuper, is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Superannuation Trustees (AIST) and was named AISTs Trustee of the Year in 2008. As Senior Vice President of the Queensland Council of Unions (QCU), Beth actively contributes to strategy development for the broader union movement.

Assistant Secretary: Kate Veach

Kate is a Registered Nurse and has been a QNMU member for 27 years. In 2021, she was elected to the position of QNMU Assistant Secretary. Prior to this, Kate was the QNMU Director of Organising and Professional Services.

Kate has worked in public, private and commercial healthcare environments in clinical management and administrative roles. She was Nursing Director in Sub and Post-Acute Service within West Moreton Hospital and Health Service and also held an Assistant Director of Nursing position in the Office of the Chief Nursing and Midwifery Office (OCNMO). She is also an International Council of Nurses (ICN) Global Nursing Leadership Institute Scholar.

As an Executive Member of the Queensland Council of Unions, Kate fights tirelessly for the rights of members across all sectors, believing passionately that well-supported nurses and midwives are central to healthier communities. She particularly enjoys working with frontline staff to develop, implement and evaluate resource management practices, processes and tools to improve the delivery of safe, high-quality nursing and midwifery care.

QNMU Council

The QNMU Council is the governing body of the QNMU and is elected by members in accordance with QNMU rules. Council representatives are democratically elected by QNMU members. The focus of the Council is on whole of union strategic issues and it acts to make determinations that are in the best interests of all members. Workplace issues and individual representation matters should be dealt with in the usual manners via representatives at the Local Branch, via the Organiser, or by submitting a Request for Representation.

QNMU Council

Thank you to our current Council Members:

  • Julie Burgess
  • Madonna Cameron
  • Christine Cocks
  • Karen Cooke
  • Tammy Copley
  • Nikki Emblen
  • Michael Hall
  • Chris Johnson
  • Damien Lawson
  • David Lewis
  • Kelly Trudgen
  • Simon Mitchell
  • Fiona Monk
  • Emma Murphy
  • Sue Pitman
  • Cathy Rose
  • Ashleigh Sullivan
  • Michelle Sunderland
  • Janelle Taylor
  • Kym Volp
  • Samantha Woodhouse

Note: If a Councillor resigns their post, a casual vacancy may be called for and filled in accordance with the rules of the QNMU.